Penllyn Community Council

Clerk to the Council

Mr AD Williams

13 Wye Close, Barry,

Vale of Glamorgan. CF62 7TF

Phone 07813 318085

Email – penllyn.community.council@talktalk.net

Minutes of an Annual Meeting of Penllyn Community Council held at Llansannor Community Hall, City at 7.00 p.m. on Monday 13th May 2024

Present - Councillors L. Tiessen (Penllyn) Chairman, M. Bancroft (Ystradowen), D.Fardo (Penllyn), S.C.Howells (Ystradowen) H. Harbour (Ystradowen), A. Jarvis (Ystradowen), E.P. Jarvis (Llansannor), P. Summers (Llansannor).

Also in attendance Mr AD Williams, Clerk to the Council.

65) Apologies for absence.

Councillors P. Eslambolchillar and C. Roach; Vale of Glamorgan Councillor N.J.Wood.

66) Declarations of Interest.

None.

67) Cllr Summers referred to the previous tradition of rotating the Chair around each of the Council's wards.

Resolved: That wherever possible the tradition be continued.

68) Election of Chair.

The outgoing Chairman Cllr. Tiessen thanked all Members and Clerk for their support over the last year.

Cllr. Tiessen invited nominations for the position of Chair.

Cllr. A. Jarvis, proposed by Cllr D. Fardo, seconded by Cllr S. Howells.

Resolved: That Cllr A. Jarvis be appointed, unanimously, Chair of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

Cllr. A. Jarvis duly took the Chair, received the Chain of Office from the outgoing Chairman, and thanked him for his work in taking the Council forward over the last year. Cllr. Tiessen duly responded and wished Cllr. A. Jarvis every success for her year of office.

69) Election of Vice Chair

Chair invited nominations for the position of Vice Chairman.

Cllr. D. Fardo, proposed by the Chair, seconded by Cllr E.P. Jarvis.

Resolved: That Cllr D. Fardo be appointed, unanimously, Vice Chair of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

70) Appointment of Internal Auditor

Resolved: That Mr Michael P. Bumford be reappointed.

71) Appointment of Bankers

Resolved: That HSBC be reappointed.

72) Appointment of Members to the Council's Finance Committee

Resolved: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman, together with Cllrs. M. Bancroft, H. Harbour and P. Summers be appointed.

73) Appointment of Members to the Council's Establishment Committee

Resolved: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman, together with Cllrs S.C. Howells and P. Summers be reappointed.

74) Appoint minor authority representative as Governor to Llansannor CIW Primary School

Resolved: That Cllr P Summers be reappointed.

75) Appoint Member to Vale Council Community Liaison Committee

Resolved: That Cllrs M. Bancroft and P. Summers be appointed.

76) Appoint Members to One Voice Wales.

Resolved: That Clirs. Clir S.C. Howells and P. Summers be appointed.

77) Appoint Member to Vale Council Public Service Board.

Resolved: That Cllr L. Tiessen be appointed.

Signed: Chair Date: 3rdJune 2024

